Even More TOFW Goodness

From John Bytheway presentation

I heard John speak over 10 years ago. I was still in high school. He was great then and fantastic this last weekend.

John spoke about learning to play the bango. His Daughter told the kids at school that he could play. And the joke was that just beacuse he owned a bango didn’t mean he could play the bango. So he put himself to the task of learning to play. He talked about how he broke the task down into little bits. One note at a time.

“Nothing is particularly hard if you divide it into small jobs”
— Henry Ford

He spoke of the Verbs- Knowing, Being and Doing.

Lynn G Robbins spoke in last general conference here

“Many of us create to do lists to remind us of things we want to accomplish. But people rarely have to be lists. Why? To do’s are activities or events that can be checked off the list when done. To be, however, is never done. You can’t earn checkmarks with to be’s. I can take my wife out for a lovely evening this Friday, which is a to do. But being a good husband is not an event; it needs to be part of my nature—my character, or who I am.

Or as a parent, when can I check a child off my list as done? We are never done being good parents. And to be good parents, one of the most important things we can teach our children is how to be more like the Savior.”

Love it.

He asked us about our spiritual diets. What are we feeding our spirit. Let’s replace the bad with good. If we fill our lives with all that negative stuff… what will out life look like. Think about who you are trying to become.

Surround yourself with greatness. That we might always have his spirit with us.

Thank you. John.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Even More TOFW Goodness

  1. Audrey says:

    Love it! I’m so glad you’re posting your notes; I’m able to compare and write down the stuff I missed! I just couldn’t write fast enough, it was all so good.

Leave a Reply

